top of page

Grandma’s Best Natural Shampoo Products for Grandchildren

When my daughter was pregnant with our first grandchild ten years ago, I collected all of the smallest bottles of Johnson & Johnson baby shampoo I could find.  I cannot remember exactly why small bottles, but I think I anticipated a small baby so collected small Johnson & Johnson baby shampoo bottles.   I love the smell of Johnson & Johnson baby shampoo on a baby.  The smell!  It is just what I remember a baby should smell like.


My daughter had other ideas.  She was learning about natural.  Natural with no parabens,  nanoparticles, phthalates, phenoxyethanol,  phytoestrogens, titanium dioxide,  lavender, tea tree, petroleum oils, musk, dye, propylene, glycol, sulfates, gluten, soy, oat, dairy, honey, nuts, numbing agents.  Crueltry free counts.  E.U. Compliant ingredients count.  Biodegradable counts.  I have no idea what most of this is.  I had no idea that shampoo had all these ingredients.  Vegan is in.  Are the grandchildren eating the shampoo?


I remember all the discussions about natural shampoo.  This is a major issue for our daughters.  I can understand that.  We grandmas had no information when our children were growing up.  Somehow our children have survived us.  Our children have all the information they want at their fingertips and need to know everything about everything before it touches our grandchildren.  Maybe that is why we had beautiful smelling no more tears Johnson & Johnson shampoo in the drug store and they have everything in the world on the internet.


Over the last ten years, my daughters have tried various natural shampoos.  How do I know?  As I am writing this, I just pulled bottle after bottle and tube after tube from under the sink in the guest bathroom.  Some are one third empty and some are one third full.   I am going to give you the top three choices of two very picky mothers, those shampoo bottles that are one third full.  I would not have my grandchildren’s mothers be anything other than picky.  After all, these are our grandchildren and they deserve only the best of the best natural shampoo products.


Number One.

Original Sprout Products.  Hair and body Babywash.  Natural Shampoo.  Smell does matter.  Original Sprout products have a smell that my daughters love.  Yes, they are 100% vegan and “free and clear.” At www.amazon.com you can find it for $15 a bottle of shampoo.

Number Two.

Mustela Products.    Hair and Body Wash cleansing gel.  My daughter likes the hair and body wash better than their foam shampoo.  Very moisturizing.  My younger daughter used this exclusively until she bathed my grandchildren with Original Sprout at her sister’s house and loved the product.   You can find the body wash for $10-12 by clicking here.


Number Three.

California Baby.  This was the first natural product brand I purchased for my grandchildren.  We still use the products.  The packaging is eye catching and quality excellent.  $10-15. You can find California Baby by clicking here.


Of course, the one they presently like the best is the most expensive.

Johnson and Johnson came out with a natural shampoo.  $7.47 on Amazon.com, the most reasonably priced of all the natural shampoos I found.  Of course, I bought it.  The bottle says it has plant and fruit derived ingredients and is still no more tears.  It is paraben free, dye free, essential oil free, allergy tested, dermatologist tested, hypoallergenic and naturally low foaming.  Who knew manufacturers add an ingredient that makes shampoo foaming and foaming shampoo is not natural?  This Johnson and Johnson Natural Baby Shampoo is 98% derived from coconut, palm and sugarcane.  I cannot wait for my grandchildren to try it and smell like a baby again.




Joy,



Mema



Comments


bottom of page