top of page

Great Mother’s Day Gifts for Grandma


Each year, this Grandma’s daughters ask what I want for Mother’s Day. Each year, I say please send me a picture in a frame. Each year, they say, and what else.

My favorite Mother’s Day gifts have been a picture of the grandchildren in a frame. The picture can be creative. This year, my youngest daughter came up with a great idea that can be used for Mother, Father, Grandmother, or Grandfather. She had the grandsons sit and wrote “We Love You, ___” on the bottom of their feet. Each word on one of the bottom of the four feet. Then she took a picture of them smiling. She purchased great frames and put the picture in it. Other variations include the grandchild holding a sign that says, “Happy Mother’s Day 2014,” or one of those new talking frames for the grandchild to say “I love you.” There is a great new Grandmother frame this year that is very inexpensive and creative.

Another favorite Mother’s Day gift has been anything handmade by the grandchild. I have loved the ceramic mugs, ceramic heart shaped boxes, and even the scribbles made by the toddler grandchild framed, with the parent of the grandchild writing the words for the toddler.

So, what did I say this year when the question was asked? Please send me a picture in a frame. When my daughters said, okay, what else, this year I had another answer.

I have to admit I have inherited vanity from my vain mother, GG (great grandmother). It has finally taken me long years to admit that I inherited the vanity and admit that now I do not think it is a bad thing. For several years, more years than I will admit to, I have purchased magnified lighted vanity mirrors . Every few years, I have again purchased a lighted vanity mirror in a larger strength. The last one I purchased was 5X strength. Recently, I found myself wearing my reading glasses to put on makeup. Yes, it is a funny sight and becoming burdensome.

So, I went looking for larger strength lighted vanity mirrors. Yes, I found one a few weeks ago at Brookstone. It is 10X strength. The ad says, “See yourself in a more flattering light.” I thought to myself that in a few weeks my daughters are going to ask what I want for Mother’s Day. When my daughters said, okay, what else, now I said please look on the Brookstone website and get me the 10X strength lighted vanity mirror.

It is not a bad thing for the daughters to learn that I am vain. I know it will take them long years too to feel comfortable with the vanity they surely have inherited and learn it is not a bad thing to be vain. Forever young with

Joy,

Mema

© 2024. GrandmaLessons.com/grandmother-blog.com 

bottom of page