top of page

Balancing Between Young and “Young Old”

Opening up the New York Times on line September 1, 2014, I scrolled down and “Most Emailed” hit me. Number two in most emailed was an Opinion piece, “When Did We Get So Old,” by Michele Willens. The blurb says, “For many of us, it is a psychological quandary that is causing the most unpleasantness: looking around and suddenly being the oldest.” You think!


Read it at NY Times.


The Number three in most emailed was a piece on retiring, “Increasingly, Retirees Dump Their Possessions and Hit the Road,” by David Wallis. The blurb says, “More retired Americans are getting rid of their homes and traveling, with 360,000 of them receiving Social Security benefits at foreign addresses.” Read it at NY Times.


Balancing between young and “young old,” it seems that, as usual, as a Baby Boomer, I am one of many. Even how I read the New York Times itself shows the balancing act. On weekdays, when I am rushed, I read it on line like most younger than me. After all, I am still working. As a Baby Boomer, I prefer holding an actual newspaper, and relish the weekends when I can read the New York Times at leisure. . . .and email interesting articles to family and friends.


Not feeling or looking my age, I try not to think of age. Working with most who are younger than me makes me feel younger. Taking our grandchildren out and having people think Grandpa and I are their parents makes me feel younger. Being active and in good health is a blessing. It is Grandpa who seems to be the one the article is talking about, looking around and verbalizing that we seem to be the oldest.


I guess those who seemingly are disturbed about being the oldest should move to South

Florida. You will quickly seem “young old” when you see so many “old old,” who according to GG reach that milestone at around age 84.

Or, I guess the second alternative is to “get out of Dodge,” which is what a lot of us are doing. We who are “young old” become so busy enjoying our new surroundings and new experiences that our age becomes irrelevant.

Personally, I’m still working on the balance and like it that way. Travel often and live to the fullest rather than think of the quickly passing years is my mantra. Denial brings a lot of

Joy,

Mema

Kommentare


bottom of page