top of page

Does Jane the Virgin’s Lead Actress Have an Important message for Parents and Grandparents to Pass Along That Is Not What the Show’s Title Suggests

Because of all the buzz that the new television show,”Jane the Virgin,” was not only hysterical but bound to win awards this year, this Grandma convinced Grandpa to watch it On Demand. Really, we both hated the title and the seemingly trite subject matter. But, for anyone, in this day and age of what seems like daily terrorist attacks, laughing is good.


And laugh we did. We were almost in danger of blitzing episodes. The infusion of social media the reviews all emphasized worked. The interpersonal relationship issues worked. I was impressed with Gina Rodriguez who plays Jane, the pregnant virgin. Yes, you can just imagine the funny story lines. As a fledgling actress given an enormous break, I think she deserves the buzz.


The Golden Globes agreed. She won best actress in a comedy series.


The quote when she was backstage, reported in the New York Times, January 12, 2015, was poignant.


” Backstage: Gina Rodriguez”


“Just as she arrived onstage breathless to accept her award for “Jane the Virgin,” Gina Rodriguez was out of breath when she took the spotlight backstage to answer questions about her win. She extolled her show, which was renewed today for a second season, saying, “It allows Latinos to see themselves in a beautiful light.” But she noted that the victory comes at a time when society as a whole is dealing with difficult questions involving race and the authorities, citing specifically the Eric Garner and Michael Brown cases. “We all need to remember that we all have the same stories,” she said, adding later, “When you step outside the door, it’s a very diverse world.”


As poignant was her acceptance speech at the Golden Globes:

“Thank you to my mom and my dad for telling me to dream big and to never stop dreaming. To my siblings, to my sisters Evelise and Rebecca for being the biggest role models in my life. This award is so much more than myself. It represents a culture that wants to see themselves as heroes. My father used to tell me to say every morning, `Today’s going to be a great day. I can and I will.’ Well, Dad, today’s going to be a great day. I can and I did.”


This Grandma, also an immigrant, was given a mantra by her mother, a blueprint for life, life lessons at an early age. I wonder if such is an American immigrant phenomenon.

Parents do not think that their children will live a mantra, but now I see two of us that succeeded in America, reached for the American Dream based on a mantra a parent instilled. Both messages promoted success that required focus and work ethic.

Remember the definition of mantra: “a word or phrase that is repeated often or that expresses someone’s basic beliefs.” Dream, success, happiness, and the good health to enjoy life is a mantra great to bestow on the precious grandchildren.


Maybe all parents should consider a mantra for their children promoting such success and happiness, be the proactive role model. And if they don’t, maybe we grandmas should do so. Just steal the one promoted by Gina Rodriguez’s father and repeat it often when with the grandchildren.


“Dream big and never stop dreaming. Today’s going to be a great day. Always say to yourself, ‘I can and I will.'”



Joy,



Mema



Comments


bottom of page