top of page

From Facebook About How Living Longer Brings Learning and Wisdom To Share to Improve Quality of Life


This Grandma is new to social media.  When I was a sitting judge in Florida, I was constrained from participating in social media.  I never participated in Facebook and, retired from the bench, really enjoy it now. Posts from my friends and acquaintances keep me connected in this COVID era.  I am reluctant to pass along anything posted that is recommended to pass along.  However, I guess I am getting over that reluctance with this post, with thoughts to consider that will improve one’s quality of life.


Think about the following worthwhile post from Facebook: “I asked a friend who had crossed 75 and is heading towards 80 what sort of changes he is feeling in himself…


He sent me the following:

1. After loving my parents, my siblings, my spouse, my children, and my friends, I have now started loving myself.

2. I have realized that I am not Atlas. The world does not rest on my shoulders.

3. I have stopped bargaining with vegetable and fruit vendors.  A few pennies more is not going to break me, but it might help the poor fellow save for his daughter’s school fees.

4. I leave my waitress a big tip. The extra money might bring a smile to her face. She is toiling much harder for a living than I am.

5. I stopped telling the elderly that they’ve already narrated that story many times. The story helps them walk down memory lane and relive their past.

6. I have learned not to correct people even when I know they are wrong. The onus of making everyone perfect is not on me. Peace is more precious than perfection.

7. I give compliments freely and generously. Compliments are a mood enhancer not only for the recipient but also for me. And a small tip for the recipient of a compliment, never, NEVER turn it down, just say, “Thank you.”

8. I have learned not to bother about a crease or a spot on my shirt. Personality speaks louder than appearances.

9. I walk away from people who don’t value me. They might not know my worth, but I do.

10. I remain cool when someone plays dirty to outrun me in the rat race. I am not a rat, and neither am I in any race.

11. I am learning not to be embarrassed by my emotions. It’s my emotions that make me human.

12. I have learned that it’s better to drop the ego than to break a relationship. My ego will keep me aloof, whereas, with relationships, I will never be alone.

13. I have learned to live each day as if it’s the last. After all, it might be the last.

14. I am doing what makes me happy. I am responsible for my happiness, and I owe it to myself. Happiness is a choice. You can be happy at any time, just choose to be!”


The Facebook post ends with:

“I decided to share this with all my friends. Why do we have to wait to be 60 or 70 or 80 or 90+? Why can’t we practice this at any stage and age?”


Whatever age we are, we should never say we are getting older, we just have lived longer.  Living longer has its benefits of learning, experience, and wisdom, as you can see above.


Now that I have shared something I read and am passing along, I would like to share a personal experience that changed how I look at people of all ages.


When I was 27 years old, I went to the library (yes, to an actual building) to pick up a new best seller hardback book I had pre ordered.  Yes, a hardback book!  I was on line at checkout, carrying my baby in one arm and the book in the other.  Behind me was a woman who had lived long years. She commented that we were checking out the same new best seller hardback book.  Then, she asked how old I was.


She said she was 83. She said she was going to share a secret.  She said she was also 27 years of age inside and her body had just aged around her.


When I served as a judge, I always looked in everyone’s eyes.  I knew whatever their outward age and appearance, they were 27 inside.


Now, I am much closer to the age of the person on line behind me in the library.  There are more changes than referenced in the Facebook post.  When you look in anyone’s eyes, know they are as shocked to see themselves in the mirror as each of us who have lived long years are.  However, most of us have learned much from our long years.  The person who shared the fourteen thoughts above shared what should be reviewed often and incorporated to bring life greater


Joy,


Mema



© 2024. GrandmaLessons.com/grandmother-blog.com 

bottom of page