top of page

Grandma Being the Nanny for the Grandchildren

This Grandma recently went to a reunion of long (we never say old) friends who are all now grandmas. One has seven month old twin grandchildren and she is watching them on a daily basis until they are old enough for preschool. Another spoke of taking care of three granddaughters on a daily basis since their birth, now juggling preschool and school pickup until the parents get home from work. Yet another spoke of having her grandchildren every Friday, pickup at school, overnight until Saturday, on a weekly basis.


Of course, I love these friends, not only because they are my friends, but also because they are loving and caring parents and grandparents. I and they also understand how hard it is to be working parents raising children in this day and age. It became a discussion, not only of the extraordinary cost of childcare, but most important, of understanding how fast time goes by, and the unique opportunity to share the early years with our precious grandchildren. None would live life differently and savor every day being “nanny.”


Shortly after this reunion, off I went to take care of the younger grandchildren while their parents went on successive business trips and a business holiday party. Getting up at 6:11 am with the three year old, getting both grandsons off to preschool and school, and repeating the cycle a few hours later with meals and baths and bedtime was a whirlwind that repeated itself. I found myself working hard to stay awake later than the grandchildren. Of course, being a long distance grandma, I helped the parents of the grandchildren with errands they found difficult to fill in between parental duties. I found myself exhausted, and I pride myself on working hard to stay fit.


I would not change a moment of my time as my grandchildren’s “nanny” for these short sprints I am privileged to share with the grandchildren. I have a great respect for — and jealousy of — those other grandmas who are able to do this on a daily or weekly basis. I am even more impressed with those grandma “nanny” friends who do this more often than I am able.


No, it is not easy, but it is surely easier than parenting and much more enjoyable. We have the experience to know to relax and enjoy the small moments of life. We appreciate that this time with the little ones is short. We stop and watch the incredible wondrous “newness” in seeing life through their eyes.


The bond that these “nanny’ grandmas have with their grandchildren is great and will last a lifetime. As a long distance grandma, I make it my business to be with the grandchildren often.   I just have to spend much time on an airplane to share their grandma


Joy,


Mema



Comments


bottom of page