top of page

Non-fiction Books Grip School Aged Grandchildren


Visiting grandchildren always means viewing their stash of books and seeing if their home library needs refreshing.  If I need suggestions, I ask the parents.  Recently, I have noticed a growing collection of non-fiction children’s books.  A previous post recommends the new children’s books by Brad Meltzer.  The books I am now looking for are different.  I am looking for children’s books about the sport and sports figures in the sport that interests the grandchild.

One grandson is into swimming.  More than just swimming, he is into competing in tournaments.  He is on an A team, which I have learned is good, and winning medals.  When I gave him the children’s book about Michael Phelps, “How to Train with a T. Rex and Win 8 Gold Medals,”

by Alan Abrahamson, you would think it was a gold medal!  He grabbed it, did not put it down, took it to camp and wherever he went.  He has worked hard and the book seems to reiterate that to win eight gold metals you have to work hard.  I wish I could take credit for thinking of non-fiction children’s books about swimming for him, but I have to give credit for the idea to the mother of this grandchild.  Click here to buy.

Of course, I also bought books for the grandson about the Olympics.  Why not think big! Click here for a selection on Amazon:

I mentioned this idea to the mother of my tennis tournament competing granddaughter in the same six to eight year old range.  She thought it was a great idea to look for children’s books about tennis players and tennis.  I found a highly rated book called, “Nothing but Trouble: The Story of Althea Gibson,”  by Sue Stauffacher, which told of the commitment that it takes to be good at the sport.  Same theme, hard work.  Since this granddaughter would play tennis all day if we let her, this book works for her.

Then, I found a new children’s book about the four big international tennis tournaments in a story book form, “A Magical Racquet Ride: Journey to the Four Grand Slam Tournaments of Tennis Paperback, by Marissa Irvin Gould, very highly recommended for any child interested in tennis.  It is an early elementary reading level so the grandchild can easily read this herself.

Of course, I had to get her Brad Meltzer’s book, “Heroes for My Daughter.” I love the description on Amazon:

. . . novelist Brad Meltzer brings together the stories of fifty-five remarkable individuals, from intellectual explorers such as Marie Curie, Sally Ride, and Jane Goodall to cultural champions like Billie Jean King; from implacable public figures such as Rosa Parks and Winston Churchill to artistic icons such as Leonardo Da Vinci and Stevie Wonder; and beyond. Heroes for My Daughter is Meltzer’s collection of inspirational, real-life figures for his daughter, and yours, to learn how to lead a powerful, motivated, fulfilling life.

Perfect.  She may not want to be a tennis player when she grows up, but we all want our grandchildren to learn to lead a powerful, motivated, fulfilling life.  Click here for the one for girls.

Click here for the one for boys.

The reviews on these two Brad Meltzer books say the average age is 8-11, but because each story is only one page long, younger children can be read to without overload on grandma.

I cannot wait to see the grandchildren again, and always bring visit presents.  Books are great ones, and now I have them into non-fiction too.

Joy,

Mema

© 2024. GrandmaLessons.com/grandmother-blog.com 

bottom of page