top of page

Think Sooner Rather Than Later in Fulfilling Passions and Bucket Lists

This past Spring month or so has been a difficult one for deaths of those we know or of whom we know in their sixties, even fifties and forties.  Spring 2016 has been more about endings than rebirth or Spring awakening for this Grandma.


For some reason, this month or so, Grandpa and I heard of the loss of someone from our concentric circles of community we know, people from business, from the neighborhood, and long (we never say old) acquaintances, and those close to them, to loss of loved ones of dear long friends.  We celebrate the long lives of those who left us in their 90’s, but the celebration of life is harder when that life is cut short.  There is something to be said for all of us to be “six degrees of separation” from anyone else, but the numbers of those dead or dying younger than they should is just rising above what this Grandma expected as a Boomer Grandma approaching age 70.  I have heard it said that someone is going to bring down the average life expectancy age, and better it should not be you.


But, it may be you or me next.


I have spoken of a favorite aunt who saved her entire working career to be able to take a trip around the world when she retired.  When she retired, before she could take that long planned trip around the world, she died of lymphoma.  Before she died, she told me not to wait to fulfill my travel dreams, to do all my traveling before I was age sixty five, because I may not be able to do so afterward.


I listened to my favorite aunt.  Grandpa and I are almost done.  We aimed for age sixty five, but did not make it.  Believing our generation is different in health, wellbeing, and aging, we think we have more time than age sixty five.  We are mentally  giving ourselves a good fifteen years, okay, maybe ten more years, of being able to travel far and wide and see that which is beyond our near completed list of all the wonders of the world.


But, we first aimed to complete the bucket list that was our passion.  My favorite aunt was a special woman whose advice I appreciate even more now.


I  listened as I heard of those taken in their sixties, and even fifties and forties.  Reasons include those cancers that are silent killers and those that are not, stroke, embolism, heart attack. . . .


I offer my condolences to those who are suffering loss of loved ones.


And, I am grateful . . . .


And plan the next trip.


I think each of us Boomer Grandmas can think of a passion, a wish, a dream, a bucket list, to pursue that will fulfill our lives, while we are healthy enough to pursue it.


Think sooner rather than later in fulfilling bucket lists.   Planning the journey  or the path is pleasurable and taking advantage of the life we have left while we are still able is




Joy,



Mema




コメント


bottom of page